Frequent question: Which Caribbean islands belong to Netherlands?

Grouping of islands

What islands make up the Netherlands?

Bonaire, Saba, Sint Eustatius

Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius are special municipalities within the Kingdom of The Netherlands, which means they have their own government but are still politically connected with The Netherlands. All three islands are known as Carribean Netherlands or as BES islands.

Where are the Caribbean Netherlands?

Sint Eustatius and Saba are in the main Lesser Antilles group and are located south of Sint Maarten and northwest of Saint Kitts and Nevis. The Caribbean Netherlands has a population of 25,157 as of January 2019.

Caribbean Netherlands.

Caribbean Netherlands Caribisch Nederland (Dutch)
Internet TLD .nl .bq

What countries do the Dutch own?

The Kingdom of the Netherlands consists of four constituent countries: the Netherlands, Aruba, Curaçao and Sint Maarten.

Constituent countries.

Country Subdivision Curaçao
Population (as of November 2019) 158,665
Percentage of Kingdom’s population 0.89%
Area 444 km2 (171 sq mi)
Percentage of Kingdom’s area 1.04%

Is Denmark in the Netherlands?

Denmark is a totally different country altogether. It is not the same as The Netherlands (also Holland). These are two separate countries, but both are on the continent of Europe. … Holland, or the Netherlands, has Amsterdam as its capital city.

What 4 countries make up the Netherlands?

The Kingdom of the Netherlands is made up of four countries: the Netherlands, Aruba, Curaçao and St Maarten.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Where did the Dutch build their first trading post?

What language do they speak in Caribbean Netherlands?

Dutch (official language of Aruba, Bonaire, Curaçao, Saba, Sint Eustatius, Sint Maarten, and Suriname)


Country/Territory Bonaire
Population 14,230
Official language Dutch
Spoken languages Papiamento, Dutch, English, Spanish

What language is spoken in Netherlands Antilles?

In 1980 the population totaled 253,400 with an annual growth rate of 1%. The Netherlands Antilles consists of 2 groups of 3 islands each, situated in the Caribbean Sea about 880 kilometers apart. 40 nationalities are represented. Dutch is the official language, but Spanish and English are spoken widely.