Which were the trade Centres of Dutch?

Which is the trade Centres of Dutch?

Burhanpur. The first permanent trading post of Dutch East India Company was in Indonesia. In India, they established the first factory in Masulipattanam in 1605, followed by Pulicat in 1610, Surat in 1616, Bimilipatam in 1641 and Chinsura in 1653.

Which were the chief trade Centres of Dutch?

Complete answer: The Dutch East India Company was also known as Verenigde Oost Indische Compagnie (VOC). It started with establishing factories at Masulipatnam, Surat, Bimblipatnam, Karaikal, Chinsurah, Cochin and a few other ports. These eventually emerged important in the trade network of the company.

Where did the Dutch established their trading Centres?

The Dutch founded their first factory in Masaulipatam in Andhra Pradesh in 1605. Subsequently, they also established trading centres in various parts of India.

Why did Dutch fail in India?

Indian slaves were imported on the Spice Islands and in the Cape Colony. In the second half of the eighteenth century the Dutch lost their influence more and more. … By the middle of 1825, therefore, the Dutch had lost their last trading posts in India.

What is India called in Dutch?

van de Indianen, Mod.

What were the Dutch also called?

The Dutch language is a West Germanic language that is the national language of the Netherlands and, with French and German, one of the three official languages of Belgium. Dutch is also called Netherlandic or Dutch Nederlands; in Belgium it is called Flemish or Flemish Vlaams.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is there a US base in Netherlands?

Which were the main Dutch trading Centres in India?


  • Surat (1616-1795)
  • Agra (1621-1720)
  • Burhanpur.
  • Kanpur (1650-1685)
  • Ahmadabad (1617-1744)
  • Bharuch (of Brochia, Broach)
  • Vengurla (1637-1685)
  • Kundapura (1667- ca.1682)

Is Dutch spoken in India?

Dutch is not as widely spoken as Mandarin, English, Arabic, Spanish, or French. Besides, most people in the Netherlands speak English.